Why I’m actually excited about this fall semester

I’ve been in college for two years now. I’ve gone from majoring in history to majoring in early childhood education to then contemplating just about 20 other majors and hating all of them.

I couldn’t seem to find my “passion” that apparently everyone miraculously finds their first or second year of college. You see, art to me was always just a hobby, not something that I could make a career out of oh no! Growing up I always heard “you’ll be a starving artist!” And “you’ll never find work!” But the more I have researched the more untrue those statements are.

It wasn’t until about two weeks ago I was talking to a friends grandmother, let’s call her Katherine, (she’s super cool), that I realized my passion was art. Katherine was asking me about what I was going to college for and what I wanted to do with my life when I reluctantly told her I had quit halfway through this semester because I had no idea what I wanted to do. I told her that I can’t find my calling and that until I do I’m not going back to school. Well can you believe what Katherine said? “I know exactly what your passion is.” I was freaking dumbfounded. How could she know when I didn’t? Katherine proceeded to say, “your face lights up like I’ve never seen before when you talk about art. That’s what your passion is.”

The past few weeks I have been researching schools and programs and I won’t bore you with the details but I finally realized graphic design is what I want to do with my life.

So for the first time of my college career I am truly excited for the upcoming semester! I am officially going to start my journey as a graphic design major!

Leave a Reply

